COVID-19 (Coronavirus)

In this unprecedented health crisis, TDIC is making every effort to ease dentists’ burdens and provide useful information available to help guide them.

Below are some resources to better serve policyholders during this difficult and uncertain time.

TDIC will continue to provide information and updates about COVID-19 on this page. Your state dental association may also provide trusted guidance and resources.

 
COVID-19 Frequently Asked Questions

TDIC continues to receive inquiries from TDIC policyholders on how to assess and manage the risk of potential exposure.

What are the California workers’ compensation reporting requirements for an employee who has tested positive for COVID-19?

Under Senate bill 1159, employers are responsible for reporting information about positive COVID-19 tests to their workers’ compensation claims administrator within specified time frames and on an ongoing basis for a long as the law is in effect. All employee positive COVID-19 results must be reported regardless of whether the employer learns or believes that the employee contracted the virus from work or outside of the workplace.

Specifically, employers must:

  • Retrospectively report by Oct. 29 employee positive COVID-19 tests that occurred between July 6 and Sept. 17.
  • Report within three business days any employee positive COVID-19 result that occurred on Sept. 18 and until Jan. 2, 2023.

The law states that “when an employer knows or reasonably should know that an employee has tested positive for COVID-19, the employer shall report to their claims administrator” by email or fax within three days the following:

  • An employee tested positive for COVID-19 (via the polymerase chain reaction, or PCR, test only).
  • The date the employee tested positive (date specimen was collected for testing).
  • The address or addresses of the employee’s place of employment during the 14 days preceding the date the employee tested positive for COVID-19.
  • The highest number of employees who reported to work at the employee’s specific place of employment in the 45-day period preceding the last day the employee worked at each specific place of employment.
Contact TDIC

800.733.0633
[email protected]

For policyholders in Idaho, Oregon, Montana, Tennessee or Washington, call 800.452.0504.

TDIC Endorsed Brokers

TDIC Insurance Solutions
California, Arizona, Illinois, Minnesota and Nevada
Phone:800.733.0633
Email: [email protected]

Montana, Oregon and Tennessee
Phone: 800.452.0504
Email: [email protected]

Conrad-Houston Insurance (Alaska)
Phone: 907.276.7667
www.chialaska.com

Idaho Dentist Insurance Agency (IDIA)
Phone: 208.371.3052
Email: [email protected]
www.theisda.org

Jerry Hay, Inc. (Hawaii)
Phone: 808.521.1841

Mid-Atlantic Insurance Resources (New Jersey)
Phone: 877.476.4588
Email: [email protected]
www.midatlanticir.com

Pennsylvania Dental Association Insurance Services (PDAIS)
Phone: 717.234.6530
www.pdais.com

Washington State Dentists’ Insurance Agency (WDIA)
Phone: 800.282.9342
www.wdiains.com